skip to Main Content

Board of Directors & Medical Advisory Committee

Board of Directors

Jennifer Sargent, MBA, MS

Jennifer Sargent is a healthcare leader with 20 years of experience in sales, business development, client management, and go-to-market strategies. She holds an MBA from the University of Minnesota’s Carlson School of Management and MS in Kinesiology from the University of North Dakota. Currently she serves as President of Pacify Health, utilizing her marketing expertise to drive growth and communicate complex ideas into simple messages that resonate with market needs.

Jeanne Friebe, BSN, RN, IBCLC, RNC-LRN

Jeanne Friebe brings 35 years experience in hospital/ in-patient settings on post-partum, labor and delivery, Special Care Nursery and NICU. She supports women on their journey with achieving their breastfeeding goals and providing human milk to their little ones.

Kelsey Swanson, CPA

As a certified public accountant (CPA), Kelsey has spent over 10 years providing financial audit and assurance services to clients across the Midwest.  A mother herself, she is passionate about human milk and supporting families in the community to reach their breastfeeding goals.

Aida Mejia-Fergen
Board Member

Aida Mejia-Fergen is the Senior Development Officer at Comunidades Latinas Unidas En Servicio (CLUES). Aida has fifteen years of nonprofit, development and event experience. She is a board member at Conversations with Friends, an organization that provides social support to detained immigrants in the state of Minnesota. Aida feels a deep connection to the MN Milk Bank for Babies and relied on donor milk with both of her babies during their first days of life.

Gretchen Etzler, MPH, CLE

Gretchen has worked in public health for 10 years with a focus on assisting child care, workplace and community settings to create supportive policies, systems and environments for families & parents to meet their breastfeeding goals.

Megan Moen, BSN, RN
Board Member

Megan Moen is a Public Health Nurse at a school in rural Minnesota. She has a background as a pediatric nurse in both inpatient and outpatient settings. Megan saw firsthand the benefits of pasteurized donated human milk for premature babies and is an advocate for the use of human milk and its ability to promote optimal nutrition and healing.

Medical and Health Sciences Advisory Committee

Pamela Heggie, MD, IBCLC, FAAP, FABM. Milk Bank Medical Director. Pediatrician and Breastfeeding Medicine Specialist. Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN.

Nancy Fahim, MBBCh, FAAP. Milk Bank Assistant Medical Director. Neonatologist. University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN.

Michelle Haggerty, DO, MPH, ABOIM, IBCLC. Family Medicine, integrative health and breastfeeding medicine specialist. NorthPoint Health and Wellness Center and private practice Fourth Trimester Doc, Minneapolis, MN.

Jane Johnson RN, IBCLC. NICU Lactation Consultant, Essentia Duluth, MN.

Leslie Kummer, MD, MPH, FAAP. General Pediatrics and Breastfeeding Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN.

Edward “Chip” Martin-Chaffee, MD, FAAP. Neonatology and Pediatric Cardiology, CentraCare, St. Cloud, MN.

Nichole Sandberg, RNC, IBCLC. Lactation Consultant, Nurse Manager, Central Pediatrics, Woodbury, MN.

Jonathan Sellman, MD, MPH. Occupational Medicine and Infectious Disease, HealthPartners, St. Paul, MN; Clinical Scholar Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota.

Mira Sheff, PhD, MS. Minnesota Department of Health, principal investigator for the Minnesota Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (MN PRAMS), St. Paul, MN.

Minnesota Milk Bank for Babies would like to recognize our prior board members and staff for all of their work and dedication:
  • Evelyn Lindholm – Board member and Founder
  • Ardys Christenson – Board member
  • Diane Van Essen – Board member
  • Anne Cassens – Board member
  • Emily VanEssen – Board member
  • John Woodhead – Board member
  • Renee Torbeson – Board member
  • Jill Lindquist – Board member and Founder
  • Kris Scott – Donor Coordinator
  • Arlinda Michael – Donor Coordinator
  • Bridget Ryan – Board member
  • Malorie Drugg – Board member

If you have questions or are interested in serving on the board, contact us at

Minnesota Milk Bank for Babies By-Laws, 2023

Minnesota Milk Bank for Babies – Board Member Application

Minnesota Milk Bank for Babies Board Member – Job Description

Back To Top